Australia has a three-tier broadcasting system - comprising of national broadcasters, commercial broadcasters and community (or public access) broadcasters.

National Broadcasters
ABC - established in 1932, taking over the operation of 12 existing radio stations.  ABC now operates five radio networks (ABC Local Radio, ABC Radio National, ABC Classic FM, Triple J, ABC NewsRadio), three niche-format digital-only stations (ABC Dig Music, ABC Jazz, ABC Country) and the international service Radio Australia.  Since 1956, ABC has provided the national television service which now comprises ABC1, ABC2, ABC3 and ABC News 24.  ABC also has the contract to provide the international television service, Australia Network, on behalf the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

SBS - established in the late 1970s to take on the responsibility of the government-owned multicultural radio stations 2EA in Sydney and 3EA in Melbourne.  In 1980, SBS launched multicultural television on Channel 0/28 in Sydney and Melbourne.  In the 1990s, SBS expanded the radio network to other capital cities, as well as opening up a second frequency in Sydney and Melbourne.  SBS' television network now broadcasts nationally with two channels, SBS ONE and SBS TWO.

Commercial Broadcasters
Fairfax Media
- Newspaper publisher and owner of radio stations in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Perth.

Australian Radio Network - operates the Mix brand in Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide and Brisbane (as 97.3FM), and the Classic Hits brand in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane.  Also operates Cruise 1323 in Adelaide.

DMG Radio Australia - operates the Nova network in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth and the Classic Rock stations in Sydney and Melbourne.  Also owns Star FM on the NSW Central Coast and talk-back station 5AA in Adelaide.

Austereo - operates the Today and Triple M radio networks, including Mix 94.5 in Perth, and operates Newcastle radio stations KOFM and NXFM in partnership with Macquarie Southern Cross Media.

Broadcast Operations Group - based at 2SM Sydney and operates a broad network of AM and FM stations through regional NSW and Queensland.

Grant Broadcasters - operates radio stations in regional Australia and capital cities Darwin, Hobart, Perth and Canberra - the latter two in partnership with Capital Radio Network.

Pacific Star Network - Melbourne-based broadcaster operating SEN and MTR radio stations.

Capital Radio Network - based in Canberra and operates local AM stations in Canberra and  Perth in partnership with Grant Broadcasters.

Southern Cross Media - regional network of AM and FM stations (including Hot FM, Sea FM and Star FM brands) across much of Australia.  Also operates the Southern Cross Ten and Southern Cross Television regional television networks.

Prime Radio - regional television broadcaster and owner of network of AM and FM radio stations in northern and central Queensland.

Macquarie Radio Network - Sydney radio stations 2GB and 2CH and has investment in Melbourne radio station MTR (formerly 3MP).

ACE Radio Network - regional network of AM and FM stations across Western Victoria, Gippsland and Albury-Wodonga regions.

WIN Corporation - regional television network operating small group of FM radio stations in regional NSW