July 17, 2009

Hobart: 7TTT

Hobart, the capital of the island state of Tasmania, is the southernmost capital city in Australia.  The city was founded as a penal colony in 1803 and is Australia’s second oldest capital city behind Sydney.

Hobart now has a population of around 200,000 making it Australia’s second smallest capital city.

Hobart’s first commercial FM radio station, 7TTT, was launched in July 1990.  The station was affiliated to the national Austereo network and carried a number of syndicated programs from Austereo and was also marketed to advertisers as part of the company’s national FM network.


The branding stayed as TTT until 2003 when new owners Macquarie Media Group re-branded it as Sea FM, taking on the name of its regional FM network which has coverage along the east coast of Australia.  However, the official call-sign remains as 7TTT.

Website: Sea FM Hobart

No comments: